terrified by freedom

Surrender is the only way to freedom, but it can be terrifying.

I had splashed in the shallows of God, had felt the refreshing spray of the ocean caress my ankles, but I’d never made it out to the depths.I could hear the deep water calling to me, inviting me to a life of adventure and joy, and I longed for it to envelop me completely. It was only steps in front of me, and yet there I stood, frozen in fear. I longed for the beauty and power of the waves and surf, but I was terrified of that unknown force that offers no guarantee of ease for those who choose to embrace the waves.

~Van Norman, Kasey. Named by God. Tyndale House Publishers. Kindle Edition.

Leave a Reply

