the commencement of time

In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth. The earth was without form and void, and darkness was over the face of the deep. And the Spirit of God was hovering over the face of the waters.  And God said, “Let there be light,” and there was light. (Genesis 1:1-3 ESV)

in the midst of the darkness

in the inky void

the hovering spirit

spreads its wings

holding close the space

of eternity.

and in one word

a mighty voice

spoke into this darkness

a light to shine

a candle lit for the first time

an awakening on the edge

of a dawn of creation.

and somehow in this murkiness

the light threaded its way through

both the same and different

not declared ‘good’

until dividing darkness in two

rendering what once was

completely new.

by janel andrews  jan 9/2012

6 thoughts on “the commencement of time

  1. Oh thank you for this. You know how my heart longs for poetry. And this fills me up. Its beautiful friend. So lovely. I am going back for a re-read to savor. Thanks for sharing your gift. So pleased to be in community at Emily’s with you. Loved this prompt? The poet in me thanking the poet in me.

    • Elizabeth, thank you so much for your words my friend. Your posts are always so beautifully written and fill up my heart. I am so excited to have posted for the first time with Imperfect Prose after reading so many amazing entries over the last year. Thank you dear poet friend.

    • thank you dear Friend! it was such a pleasure to begin the year writing with your Imperfect Prose. I hope that it will continue to be a tradition to get me out of my box and thinking deeper of the things of God and my life. I love you more than words can say.

Leave a Reply

