The Light has come, do not give up Hope

There are two things that inspire my Imperfect Prose today.

This quote”We are living in a very dark world but the candle reminds us that darkness cannot extinguish the tiniest flame. Darkness has no breathe.” – Glennon

 and today’s memorial post by my dear friend Joy about her dear son she lost during pregnancy.

The Light Has Come, Do Not Give Up Hope

The burnished glow of sunrise catches my eye
squinting in day’s first blush
the dew sends sunbeam slivers earth arcing
the illuminated flowers gathering round begin to sway
a cacophony of movement as the day springs forth
their unabashed proclamation of colour  shocking
bursting into my desire for monochromatic feeling.
Little blooms, do you not know
that the dew that streams from your petals
are tear-drops pouring out my heart
that the wind causing you to dance
is the rhythm of my sobbing gasps
that the very soil in which you dig your roots
cries out in pain mirroring my broken body
this lament, this breakdown, this agony
seem to hold my every breathe in suspension
as the light of hope wavers at the periphery
sorrow obscuring my vision
my shattered heart in pieces
unravelling with every breathe
my weakened state warrents a hard fought battle
I will not succumb to the lure of silent darkness
A whisper in my ear, soft until it resounds
‘the Light has come, do not give up hope’
Past teaching echoed in my head
light revealed to once dark eyes
was not to bushel hide but rather
radiate brightly from the heart space
full tilt into another’s sorrow
something within has changed,
where my heart had once radiated such warmth
now a broken and shattered vessel lies
instead of hope’s illumination beaming forth
it began to confidently confront the shadows
advancing through the dark
one incandescent step of radiance at a time
this stardust filtered through my cracks
igniting for a moment fireflies in symphony
uniting to begin a transformation of healing
as their brilliance intensifies
darkness is banished to its intended destiny
challenging its last foray with
‘you have no breathe to stem the tide of hope’
and then the light, with new breathe
begins to push hope outward through the healing scars.

by Janel Andrews written Jan 31/2013

 

2 thoughts on “The Light has come, do not give up Hope

  1. Oh friend, this:
    “one incandescent step of radiance at a time
    this stardust filtered through my cracks
    igniting for a moment fireflies in symphony”
    you shimmer with bravery in this, dear one.
    Your vulnerability touches places deep.
    Praying that you will continue to be bathed in the Light that brings healing and hope.

Leave a Reply

