Ordinary – FMF

Joining up with Lisa-Jo for  Five Minute Friday. She says, ” why not take 5 minutes and see what comes out: not a perfect post, not a profound post, just five minutes of focused writing. So now on Fridays a group of people who love to throw caution to the wind and just write without worrying if it’s just right gather to share what five minutes buys them. Just five minutes. Your words. This shared feast.”

If you want to participate, visit the link below, check out the other entries that are on the subject of the week, and remember to comment on the links before and after yours. You’ll get to read some awesome blogs of what flows when we’re just given five minutes to focus on one subject!

GO

sometimes i feel so ordinary, plain even. i mean i look around and see all these other people around me tht seem to have such fabulous lives, such fabulous stories, such fabulous careers. i’m not where i thought i’d be in this life after 30 and perhaps that’s why i see my story or myself as just oridinary.

however i’ve never been called ordinary. no. that isn’t a word that others would use for me. i’ve heard wierd, strange, beautiful, funfilled, hilarious, good hearted, tender, etc. but never ordinary.

its so interesting how my eyes see me as something that has never been spoken into my heart and yet often do i believe the lies that internally i’ve told myself, rather then perhaps the truths as i hear and discern them from the Lord and others whom I trust.

ordinary isn’t something that i think most would desire to be. to me ordinary seems to just be someone who is there, who does’t make much of a mark, who simply lives day to day without a whole lot going out of order and things pretty much falling into place. i guess there is room for the unexpected, but its never welcomed.

and i think the thing that most bothers me about ordinary is the part where i think it means not making much of a mark. at the moment i’m struggling with why i’m here…what has God called me to. and i’m finding contentment where I am, after much struggle. and yet, i feel there is so much more that i could be a part of, so much more of who I could be. and i wonder…what is holding me back. and the answer that jumps out…fear.

fear keeps me from being more than ordinary…in my own mind and perhaps in reality too. this fear of what have i got to offer, what have i to share, what have i to do…keeps me from taking that step. and to think, my One Word is ‘BRAVE’. time to get some brave on…and start looking for ways to step out of ordinary, to start stepping on and over those fears….

END
Five Minute Friday

2 thoughts on “Ordinary – FMF

  1. Hi Mary,
    Good to connect with you from 5MF. There is certainly nothing ordinary about the lesson you share … FEAR is more often than not the very thing that keeps us from moving from ordinary to extraordinary. Keep striving. God bless!

Leave a Reply

