Home – FMF

writing with Five Minute Friday today (found over at Lisa-Jo’s wonderful blog.)

How it works:

Now, set your timer, clear your head, for five minutes of free writing without worrying about getting it right.
1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community..

HOME

Go

Home has always been a fairly safe place for me. Since I grew up as a missionary kid, wherever my family was that was home. We moved several times in my youth, and until we moved to London, I hadn’t lived anywhere for longer then 4 years. As we moved from place to place, the people who made up the mission and the communities which we were apart of became our extended family. There are people in my life to this day that I can’t bring myself to refer to as anything other than ‘Aunt’ or ‘Uncle’.

When I was growing up, there was a bit of emotional upheaval until my mom was diagnosed. So I guess in that sense it wasn’t safe emotionally for awhile, but physically it was. I knew I could come home, that there would be a roof over my head and that there would be a bed to sleep in. That i would be given a hug, or listened to as I shared a story or an opinion. I’ve been very blessed that way.

When I have lived apart from my parents, which comes with growing up, its always been refreshing to be able to return home. There are smells that just make up a home that you don’t notice until you’re removed from it. There are recipes that speak to me of home, stroganoff and sweet and sour meatballs. Books that we’ve read together, like Anne of Green Gables and the Little House on the Prairie series.  Topics we’ve discussed, everything from sexual orientation to American politics. and simply my childhood room the seafoam green pain that i was so convinced was just right at the time, 20 years ago.

that is home to me.

End

Five Minute Friday

2 thoughts on “Home – FMF

  1. Hi! Popping over from Lisa-Jo’s.
    Glad I’ve found another MK! So pleased that you were able to find a sense of home in amongst all the changes, and that there is still a place to call home and return to.

Leave a Reply

