Belong – FMF

writing with friends at Lisa-Jo‘s for the Five Minute Friday link-up. Every Friday a new word prompt is revealed and we each write for five minutes without editing on a certain subject. Remember to comment on those linked up before and after you…and have fun. I always find it interesting to see what others come up with from their own journeys

– – – – – – – – – –

BELONG

Go

This word opens up a soul gash in me that bleeds deep. Perhaps its my lack of sleep…perhaps it the deep ache in my heart. As soon a I read the word my heart beat hard and I could feel this bile rising up in my throat. Oh how my heart longs to belong, to be able to say ‘these are my people’, and to know that I’ve found community. As one who has felt like an outsider most of my life this word resonates with me to the core. I gasp to feel just one precious moment of this. To come to a place where my soul finds rest and a home. And while I long here on this mortal earth for some semblance of connection, I struggle to see past the sins that pile up past my eyes…and realize that in Him I have been set free…it is only in gazing at the depravity of those sins and not at His gracious and merciful self that I find myself still struggling. Because ultimately all is fleeting and there is just one place to truly belong.

END
Five Minute Friday

5 thoughts on “Belong – FMF

  1. Wow. “it is only in gazing at the depravity of those sins and not at His gracious and merciful self that I find myself still struggling.” That’s heart-truth. Thanks for sharing it.

  2. Oh, Janel. I hear your heart cries and your gratefulness for your belonging in him. It is an indescribably amazing gift, and yet in these flesh and bone bodies, we still ache. I pray that you would know God holding you in both your belonging and in your search for “a place.” This is so the human condition, isn’t it? Sending love.

Leave a Reply

