Story – FMF


Joining up with the beautiful writers over at Lisa-Jo’s for Five Minute friday. Every Thursday at midnight a new word is ‘released’ and we are challenged to write upon it, unedited and with honesty. It is fascinating to see what comes of the journey.

Prompt: Story

GO

I’ve been learning that each person has a story. And i’ve been learning that each step I take a bit more of my story is being revealed. And i’m seeing that there are parts of my story that intertwine and intersect with others…and its in those moments that we get a glimpse of what some of those moments in our story have been put there for.

I enjoy nothing more then losing myself in a great story. A book, that allows me to escape to far off places, relationships that I’ve never had, etc. and in the midst of trying to escape I find myself knodding along with moments that jump from the pages, reminding me that my story is still being written, breathe by breathe, moment by moment.

and its become more and more clear to me, that I need to stop..and listen. I need to take the time to actually hear what people are saying, to catch the glimpses of what they are revealing that is so much soul being bared, that I’ll wince to not catch it. And to see, to open my eyes to know that there is a tear lingering unshed, or perhaps a spark of determination and grit that fills the eyes. and the only way to do this…the only way to remind yourself of these things, is to realize the importance of story. My story. Your story. Their story.

Because whether people acknowledge God’s existence or not, they have all been given a story written before the beginning of time.  Pages in a book that they are stepping into…and perhaps i’d like to think of it as a choose your own adventure, because sometimes there are several options open to us, with new journeys waiting on the other side…but this journey…we only see a word at a time, maybe a sentence. and we step forward in faith. Because we know that our story is so much more than just us…its His hand at work in our life.

And if i’m too preoccupied with telling my story, that I don’t take the time to stop and listen and look and even learn…then i’m missing the point. Because everyone’s story is important…

END
Five Minute Friday

8 thoughts on “Story – FMF

  1. Stopping to listen – and be interested – leads to caring and sharing. I am continually challenged to “Don’t look out only for your own interests, but take an interest in others, too.” (Phil 2:4) !

  2. Oh to stop and listen….yes…yes….
    it’s worth it every time.
    it’s in the stopping that we truly see, don’t we. We see Him.
    Thrilled to stop by here today and listen to your heart!
    All for Him with hugs to you,
    Nikki

  3. Love this. 🙂 There is nothing like getting lost in a good story…and when I think of my Author and the way He is writing my story to become one of those…I just smile. He’s so Good. Thank you for this…blessings!

  4. Stopping long enough to listen….! This is so important. Everyone’s story matters. Thank you for stopping by my blog and leaving such encouragement.

Leave a Reply

