Last – FMF

so much goodness on the link-up today. Lisa-jo shared two wonderful entries…Tonya‘s sharing of what FMF is to her, and also some inRL connections that some of the beautiful FMF writers were able to make. How fabulous is that. Connecting not only online but in real life as well…I love it. Lisa-jo has connected a fabulous ‘family’ of writers here…I am so blessed to be able to contribute my meager offering.

So…writing for five minutes on one topic…without editing or worry about what others will think. Heart pouring out as we all free-write on the same topic. Don’t forget to check in with those wonderful writers around you… and see what the topic brought of their hearts and leave some blog love.

TOPIC: Last

Working at Starbucks is the last place I would have expected to be. When I was in high-school I knew that I wanted a University education. I wanted to be a teacher. When I was young I was forever defaulting to role of teacher when my brother and I would play our ‘let’s pretend’ games. I knew that I wanted to help people, to help give them a voice…and being a teacher was the most logical step.

However when I went to school, it was for Social work. After one semester and seeing all the red tape I would encounter, I immediately changed to English and History as my program of choice. I did all my volunteer placements in the school about 5 minutes from our school. I loved that school and loved my involvement with the students and was blessed to be under some absolutely amazing teachers who spoke into my life and my love of children.

After graduation, I began to realize that because I had attended a Christian University, many of the teacher’s colleges here in Ontario were not willing to accept my degree and I gave p my search to become a teacher. I also experienced a life changing event during this time, which had me in a place of trying to figure out next steps in my life.

After having time to ‘recover’ for five months my parents encouraged me to look into getting a job. I ended up at a coffee shop called Tim Horton’s. I was thankful for a job…but really overwhelmed by the very derogatory atmosphere I found myself working in. God blessed me with a couple dear friends and an amazing supervisor and I found myself able to continue on. But I was unhappy and then found myself connecting with someone who told me about Starbucks. I applied and became a barista 7 years ago. And it isn’t where I saw myself spending the last 7 years of my life…I had other plans.

I went away to teacher’s college two years ago…and it ended up being another life experience that totally blew me off the path of what I thought my life was going to look like. I am thankful that I was able to return home and also return to Starbucks as I continue to seek out what is next on the journey for me, according to this plans. I know now that while plans should be made, there isn’t a lot that turns out exactly how I thought I would look…and I’m learning to be content in this season of life, and where he has me serving him

END

Five Minute Friday

9 thoughts on “Last – FMF

  1. Really enjoyed this post. I’ve also been pondering the changing seasons of life as I am now on a path that is vastly different from what I had planned and that I didn’t see coming. I’m glad He knows where I am headed, though!

  2. God’s plans have always look so different than mine, and I’m learning to be grateful for that, because ultimately – His plans are so much better than mine. Thank you for sharing.

  3. Isn’t it weird how we have these ideas about how life is “supposed” to turn out, but it seldom does. I wouldn’t change my life for the world, but it’s certainly the LAST thing I could’ve planned for.

    Here from FMF. Nice job.

  4. Oh, if only we were given a map at birth with a dark, sure line spelling out exactly where we should go and what we should do.
    But I hope you are resting in the belief that you are exactly where you should be, doing what you should be doing, and that He is in it all even if it doesn’t look like how you expected. (I think you are 😉 it sure sounds like it anyway!). He is so good, isn’t He? And… I am sure you can “teach” at Starbucks, too… it wouldn’t surprise me at all if those gifts were still being used, just in non-traditional ways – which are more fun in my opinion anyway 😉

  5. Girl we have such similar stories. I took a few classes in the social work realm and realized I was politically INCORRECT and wouldn’t make it as a SW. I have always (since age 5) wanted to be a teacher. I trudged through classes and my last semester of graduating with an English major History Minor (see I told you!) my daughter was stricken paralyzed and I took a 3 year break. I finally graduated last Decmeber (finally) but I am still not working because of much of her needs and also I didn’t student teach…just have the content. I have had a crazy hard time finding a job too. Hugs girl and I love some pretty coffee! hugs FMF friend!

    • Hey girl, thank you for stopping by. I’d love to check out your blog but not sure what it is because I’m only getting your Avatar. Thank you so much for sharing your story. interesting how life doesn’t turn out how we plan or anticipate, but sooo glad that he’s the one in charge.

  6. Don’t give up on teaching. But I’d encourage you to expand your horizons. There are so many ways God can use you in that calling without ever having to step through the doors of a teacher’s college. Some of the most effective people in my life operated in areas that they weren’t formally trained in, but that they were qualified by God for. Meanwhile, I am sure you teach informally in your job and I know you touch people’s lives on a regular basis as your face becomes something familiar to them in their routine. I have baristas I look forward to seeing. I know baristas that can cheer me up when I’m taking myself too seriously just by smiling and knowing my order and asking how I’m doing. I’m glad I was your neighbor on FMF. I’ll think of you next time I step through the doors of my local Starbucks here in California.

    • Thank you so much for your encouragement Karin. I did find that I was more inclined towards how we could make the education more CHILD focused rather than stats focused, and meeting the ever expanding spectrum of needs that are represented in the classroom. So i guess more the analytical and brainstorming side. I adore children and have found other ways of interacting with them as well 😉
      I do find myself teaching informally at work and speaking into live and making a difference and listening which tends to go back to ‘giving people a voice’ because often people are too busy to listen if even for just a moment. thank you for your comment and I will now visit your blog as we are ‘neighbors’ at FMF 😉

  7. Sometimes when I think about where I thought I would be or where I should be. It’s bittersweet.
    I realize that God is good in all things, sometimes my flesh though. Get’s in the way. Knowing you’re right where God wants you is such a peaceful blessing.

Leave a Reply

