where I can breathe


where i can breathe
“My poems are trying to find a place where I can breathe” – Kay Ryan

Can you see it there
just beyond the horizon
around the corner from
that leafy shade?

There is a bench there
I find a cushion and glass
of sweet tea beckoning
my pen aches for the page

and I sit in the midst of
the oriole’s song
and sun streams of rainbow color
and I breathe deep

The words tumble fast and hard
my pen etching truth finger deep
I can barely keep up
my breathe shallow

I can’t believe these things
these words, these revelations
that are spilling forth
things I had barred up

and its in these poems
that I find space to breathe
and a place to speak
truth in a spill of guts.

 

by Janel Andrews  //written Feb4.2014

 

2 thoughts on “where I can breathe

  1. Janel…that is so beautifully written… I have experienced this spilling of guts too…you put words to my emotions. You have such a gift with those words!
    Love,
    Kelly

Leave a Reply

