A letter to…the tired.

Matthew 11:28-30 “Are you tired? Worn out?…Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.

Oh how this verse resonates deep…it speaks to that place in me that just wants to know true soul rest.  You feel it to, don’t you? How that place of an extra minute of breathing space might just come in handy before it all falls apart? How you wish your mind would just be blank for an extra second instead of whirling with everything you need to remember or get done.

And when I read this verse, it calms my heart, it lets me breathe that extra gasp that seems to settle me right down…because He knows the ‘unforced rhythms of grace’. He knows how to show us ‘a real rest’. And I’m finding day by day, that its only in Him that this is possible. Because unless I make a consistent attempt to stop and listen to him, to rest in Him, I know that life’s going to be full of the crazy and chaotic and I’ll start feeling the panic settling in.

I have been praying about attending a retreat that takes place in April, and that thing that totally helped me say ‘I’m all in’ was this verse. This verse is on of those that God laid on the heart of my friend who is planning the retreat. And it resonated into my heart so deep, that I almost felt an exhale aided by the hand of God…as his presence settled deep and warm around me.

So I see you there. I see you worn, frazzled, barely hanging on…and I offer you this….hope, healing and peace. Because IN HIM these things are found. There is no substitute. Drink deeply of Him. Breathe him into every piece of your being. Fill your mind with His Word. And while the circumstances of your life might not change, you will be bolstered up to face what lies ahead. Dear tired one, seek Him…seek his peace, seek his rhythm, seek His rest.

from a tired fellow wanderer

Linking up with Ruth Povey for her ‘A Letter to..’ series

letters too

3 thoughts on “A letter to…the tired.

  1. So glad you linked up with us! I love this verse, it’s one I come back to again and again. Thank you for the reminder to seek rest with Him. I’m glad you’ll be going on the retreat! I hope you have a restful and refreshing time there. Thank you for joining us in writing letters, I hope we’ll see more of you! Lots of love, Ruth x

Leave a Reply

