#FMF – Bloom

Joining up with dear Lisa-Jo and the others for our #FMF link up. Write bravely for five minutes, unedited and see what the SPirit prompts.

Always amazing to go and read other’s stories as well, which is part of the link up also

BeFunky_anemone-283789_1920.jpg

GO

Today as I was driving through the University as I usually do, I was struck by something when I stopped at the stop sign. There is construction on one of the buildings at this particular intersection. The fences that are up to keep people out of the work site have been there for quite some time. And i hadn’t known until that moment how fastidiously the University grounds keepers did their job until I saw the grass and the growth on the other side of the fence.

Sometimes it always looks better on the other side of the fence. Sometimes it doesn’t. And then I got to thinking about perspective.

Because when i think of ‘bloom’ where you are you planted…I think of something that I want to do. Something that I enjoy doing, and sinking my proverbial roots right down in. But that’s not always the case. In fact I’ve drawn that saying out a couple of times to remind me to be all there in what i’m involved with, sometimes when I’m not all that impressed that is where I find myself.

and in the end with this situation, its me that’s keeping my roots from going deep. From being groomed so that those things that are cut off will relinquish a greater bloom in the spring time. And as I ponder blooming, I think of joy, of good health, of a radiance that is truly given only by HIM.

I find myself in a work place that I’m not in love with, but I can do the job and I am blessed to be there, and blessed by my customers. I would love to be somewhere else, but I’ve no idea what that other looks like. And since I find myself there over time, because that seems to be where God wants me, it frustrates me…and at times I’ve refused to put down my roots, to seek any nourishment, to accept the pruning of my expectations and assumptions.

I see a bit of a bud starting to form. Perhaps this is the season for its blooming.

END

2 thoughts on “#FMF – Bloom

  1. yes, yes! I feel you, we do inhibit ourselves by assumptions and expectations. I am trying to bloom in a place between college and finding a job, a hard place to feel very rooted in, but yes–there are buds, by His Grace, hope. Glad I stopped by. Blessings. –An FMF neighbor

Leave a Reply

