An Unblemished Offering

 It seems I have decided
to keep the very best from you
when all I have
is a gift from your hands
but i think
I’ve done this all myself.

And so the burnt loaves
and the unclean herd leader
is offered on the altar
and your offense knows no bounds

because you’ve required so little of me
and so much of your Son
in the very giving of His Life
He has rendered this sacrifice void
and yet I try to make do

with what I have to offer
with my gifts that are nothing apart from you
from the words of my mouth that are hot air when inspired only by me|
with my actions and doing that are about my gain and not sacrifice at all

and you are left at the altar
with my second best
the after-thoughts
the things I see no use in

and this is not what you’ve called me to
this is not what you’ve gifted me for

your anger sears and rages
the offering is burnt up
but not because its acceptable
but you seek to remove its despicable stench
from your presence

and I am ashamed

that with such great a gift
I think i’m justified
in bringing you less than the best.

by Janel Andrews written July 22/2014

 

 

 

Inspired by the following items:

Cori Drost’s blog post in which she mentions: “…the Israelites were not presenting their best offerings to the Lord. They were bringing blemished sacrifices to the altar and not the best as God had commanded. God wants the first fruits. ”

“Bring the full tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. And thereby put me to the test, says the LORD of hosts, if I will not open the windows of heaven for you and pour down for you a blessing until there is no more need.” Malachi 3:10 ESV

“Moreover, we will bring to the storerooms of the house of our God, to the priests, the first of our ground meal, of our grain offerings, of the fruit of all our trees and of our new wine and olive oil. And we will bring a tithe of our crops to the Levites…” Nehemiah 10:37 NIV

One thought on “An Unblemished Offering

Leave a Reply

