You are Named

He speaks in whisper
my heart beat quickens

 

and the words I hear
I struggle to comprehend

 

because my eyes, my ears, my heart
are all covered in this filth
this sin barrier

 

and I cannot SEE, cannot HEAR, cannot KNOW

that what He whispers over me
is what I was named
before my first breathe was taken
before my eyes opened wide to light
before my heart began its rhythm

 

and yet this truth

my understanding of it
my ‘knowing’ it
doesn’t change its reality

 

HE has called me His own
beautiful
chosen
redeemed

 

and those are things
that I have no say in
they just ARE

now to make them MY heartbeat
to see them with MY eyes
to hear and believe with my ears

that is the next step
in this love journey

 

 

written by Janel Andrews    August 6/2014

 

Inspired by the following verses:

“…Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by name, you are mine.” Isaiah 43:1b

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.” 2 Cor 5:17

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, and before you were born I consecrated you…” Jer 1:5a

One thought on “You are Named

Leave a Reply

