31 days – FMFreeWrite – New

writing as much as I can through the month of October (one glorious prompt at a time)

Prompt: New

When it comes to experiences, sometimes I’m not too fond of new. Although, after trying something its not as bad as I first imagined. I like things that I can tell what the outcome will be…but there is very little adventure in that.

I’m heading off to California next weekend with my brother for a 9 day trip and alot of it is unknown. There are the days that we are going to be in certain places visiting people that are dear to me, but there are also alot of those day that are without specific plans. Oh we have a general idea of where we’re planning on being but we’re just going to see where we end up. For me that is fun and not so fun. I’m the kind of person who wants to know that we can do stuff all day but we have a specific destination in mind for the evening.

My brother challenged me to see that we can figure out where we’re staying but that way we don’t ahve to be tied into a strict itinerary with certain areas. I think this will help because I was uncertain as to how big California actually is and the distance between things…so that will definitely free us up to figure out where things are and to stay where we both feel is best for the night.

My brother has been one who has challenged me to do new. We’ve done a zip line together and we’ve kayaked on a bay together. One of the reasons i chose to do this trip with him is he’s my bro, but the other was that I was sure that there would be adventure involved because he wouldnt’ let me just do the same old. He was sure to say ‘come on, lets try this…and encourage me along the way’ just as he has on the other adventures that we’ve had.

So when it comes to new, i’m learning to embrace, to trust…as long as there are people along on the journey with me that I can trust as well, that are okay with their not being a final resting place on the map or a final destination clearly laid out in the morning…and that is okay. I’m learning…its okay to fly by the seat of your pants, in some situations. Sometimes you find adventure that way.

Five-Minute-Free-Writes-button

4 thoughts on “31 days – FMFreeWrite – New

  1. Sounds like it’s going to be a fun trip! I am more of a planner, but my husband likes to play it by ear. Somehow we find a balance between the two and it works out. đŸ™‚ I’ve found that some of the best things in life are unexpected. Hope you have a great time! -Abby (visiting from FMF)

  2. How adventurous of you. I am too much of a planner. This would be a great challenge for me. Praise God for creating opposites in a family. He always knows what we need.

Leave a Reply

