#FMF – Plan

joining together with other lovely writers on one prompt, writing for five minutes and seeing what our flying fingers reveal.

GO
sometimes I think that God laughs at my plans. But then I’m reminded that I don’t’ think he’s that kind of Father. Its been a question that I’ve often struggled with. You know making plans versus the proverbial waiting on His plans and trying to discern if they can ever truly reflect one another.

a little bit of the stress was taken away one day when someone told me that perhaps sometimes they can actually be in line with one another…what i’d like to do and what He’d like for me to do. Or sometimes there are several options all of which will be blessed but all so diverse from one another.

I’m one of those people that is okay if there isn’t a detailed plan but likes to have a bit of an outline at least of what’s going on. I”m really not a fly by my seat kind of girl. I like outlines, boundaries…at least a little bit. I’m a rule follower, but rule breaker in my head..and sometimes perhaps i wish more in my life (but that’s a whole other post).

So plans can be made and often I’m disappointed when they don’t turn out how I imagined. i mean its next to impossible to not have expectations about something. But I’ve been reminded lately that Gods in each moment, even what we see as disappointments. and since hindsight is often 50/50 it’s always in the looking back that sometimes we see moments where He has revealed His work in our life. What glorious moments those insights are.

I find it hard to plan things these days. so many variable seem to be up in the air, and yet choices have to be made. i can’t live in the in between for very long. there is no life there. I am planning on attending Jumping Tandem, but i haven’t committed 100% to it. That would mean buying the plane ticket and i’ve only got a month left on that. And then this fabulous opportunity of a retreat in Nashville with these dear heart ladies and I wonder if both of these moments will work. Should i plan on it? Can i even begin to think that perhaps i’d be blessed by attending both?

so tehre are plans that stretch out before me. I’m not sure of the choices that need to be made. But one thing I do know…he’s not up there laughing at me, putting things in my way to confuse me. He’s up there coaching me onward, loving me through broken dreams and unmet expectations,a nd sometimes opening my eyes, revealing the glory one glimpse at  a time.

stop
five minute friday

6 thoughts on “#FMF – Plan

  1. Yes, I was also relieved when I first heard it explained that God’s will isn’t set in stone. “You mess up one little step, your whole life plan is out of whack!” So glad God gives us grace and freedom in pursuing His plans for our lives!

  2. “God is in each moment.”

    I easily forget this. I find myself believing that He gets distracted somewhere along the way, taken up with other things. But He is in each moment, and arrived there long before I did. Thank you for sharing!

  3. I will say this, God would never laugh at you for plans you wish for yourself, I think he would SMILE knowing you have something planned, but his smile is bigger in knowing his plan is bigger and greater .. no matter what it is 🙂 you have a lovely blog and writing .. I am visiting from FMF!

    Karen

  4. It is so wonderful that God is so forgiving and flexible with His plan. I’m sure there have been many times I’ve strayed from His plan but He’s directed me back on track. I find it hard to make plans too, but probably for different reasons than you. I am definitely planning to make it to the FMF retreat. I hope I’ll see you there!

  5. I’m one of those people that is okay if there isn’t a detailed plan but likes to have a bit of an outline at least of what’s going on. <— I'm with you on this. I've read about Jumping Tandem and it sound lovely. This FMF retreat sounds lovely too! I'm in driving distance to Nashville so I think that one has a strong possibility of working out for me unless something else more pressing presses in. I pray you have a lovely weekend! I like your cover header…tree roots…we are all a bit tangled…but there is love and purpose in that beautiful mess! Jenn, FMF friend

Leave a Reply

