#FMF – Favorite

joining up to write five minutes, unedited, straight from my heart through my fingers to the page. Its always interesting to see what the prompt brings out in the way of thoughts and ideas. After linking up with the group over at Kate’s, don’t forget to check out some other pieces on the same subject.

prompt: FAVORITE

go

they are some of my favorites. I mean, lets be honest, I really love people. I do. But they tire me out. But there are some people, who whenever you spend time with them, they just fill up your soul. And these two are so good at that.

in 2001, I started school at Tyndale in Toronto. That first day I met my Resident Assistant (one of two who lived directly across the hall) named Anne. Little did we know the friendship that would be forged that day. Through my four years at school, and the subsequent years I have been blessed to call her friend and to have her in my life.

It was also a blessing to meet her parents, Jane and Doug and have them become such an instrumental part of my life. When everything with my wedding in 2005 fell apart (I broke it off) they invited me to come to the cottage for the week that I was supposed to be married. They let me cry, they let me reminisce and they let me just be me. And I appreciated it so much. It was definitely a much needed soul break.

When I had to escape a keg party that was happening at my new apartment, i went to their house. When I needed to just come down from a tough week at school in Hamilton, I went to their house. I went to their house for Halloween one year, and slept over. When I had a breakdown at school in 2011, they were the people (besides my own parents) that I went to for advice about leaving school and what they thought I should do. They have always been good at listening. Good at sharing the truth. Good at sharing their hearts. and I’m so thankful for that.

I was blessed to be part of Anne’s wedding two years ago and it was a blessing to get to be with them before that time, so have them hug me and be thankful that I could be a part of their daughters life as well.

This past week, I ran away to their house since I had a couple days off. I had been looking at bed and breakfasts but wasn’t sure I had the money to spend, so I had decided I’d just stick around home. Jane asked me to come visit and I had a most delightful and soul refreshing time. I’m so glad for this family that is one of my favorites. I’m so glad that I’m one of their favorites. Its such a blessing

end

five minute friday

6 thoughts on “#FMF – Favorite

  1. What a beautiful family to have in your life! As I was reading your post, I couldn’t help but think “this is what Christ’s love should look like, fleshed out in relationships each and every day.” I want to be that kind of a family to the people in my life, too.

  2. You are blessed to have such a wonderful friend and family to run to when needed. I can think of several people like that where I can run and be totally me every time. God certainly knows what you need and provides it at just the right time.

  3. What a lovely story. Thank you for sharing. How beautiful to be loved and cared for as if you were their own! I am sure you are their favorite second child that they have welcomed as if you’d been born to them.
    I was a Resident Advisor and can attest to cherishing some of those friendships forged. I’m still in fellowship with a remarkable young woman and her faith came after I’d left the college, but she gives me a lot of credit for the influence I had.
    Blessings to you this week!
    (#5 in the linkup)
    ~Tammy
    (tammysincerity)

Leave a Reply

