#FMF – Hope

its Thursday night and I’ve been chatting with my dear community over on twitter at #fmfparty. And now we join together, writing on the same prompt for five minutes, without editing our voice…and seeing how each word inspires each of us.

prompt: HOPE

I want to write about hope. How it feels up your soul. Keeps you stepping the next step. Keeps you breathing the next breathe.

but I wonder if I know this hope that I’m talking about. If I’ve felt it. If its something that you feel. Or if its just a reality. It doesn’t matter if you feel it or not, its just is.

I think sometimes I paint hope with a much different brush than it would like. I make it into a grand and glorious offering, when it could just be a whisper, a scent on the wind, a breeze blowing my skin…

and this hope. it could be a spark. just a spark. a spark in the dark…because that is all it takes to remind you of the light. And that light will always win over darkness. Hope is the thing that gives this spark life. that brings the spark to a flame…that breaks back the darkness one moment at a time, growing stronger, and banishing the shadows past corners and door posts.

and it turns out…i’ve seen this hope. I’ve felt it. it exists whether i acknowledge it or not. And i’m thankful. Because sometimes, this hope doesn’t depend on me. It doesn’t need me to start breathing, and fanning the flame. to show me that glimpse of what lies beyond where I find myself in the moment.

END

five minute friday

6 thoughts on “#FMF – Hope

  1. I really like this Janel especially the way you ended it: “…this hope doesn’t depend on me. It doesn’t need me to start breathing, and fanning the flame. to show me that glimpse of what lies beyond where I find myself in the moment.” That is so true. It doesn’t depend on us, but comes from our gracious and loving Father. And like you said sometimes it is just a spark in the dark, but then it grows. Yes, I have felt it too. Blessings to you!

  2. Beautiful as always dear friend!! I have missed the last few parties and my FMF family!! Praying you have a good weekend!! I loved your video btw! You are so sweet! I forgot you were in Canada like me! Too bad we are so far away from one another, but it is nice to have another Canadian!!! ❤

Leave a Reply

