#FMF – Unite

Joining up with Kate and her motley crew of writing buddies over at Five Minute Friday where we all write on a one word prompt for five minutes. No editing, just letting the words flow out of your fingers. Link up and then go check out what others have written 😉

Prompt: Unite

Words are just words until you unite them. Then they become sentences. And they begin longer forms of communication, and even begin to form stories.

There are days when I read words and i just revel in the fact that someone had the presence of mind to put those particular words together. I have to admit, I have an English Literature degree, so I have read some Literature but not everything I’d like to consume. I’m not sure I’ll ever be able to attain that. But there were some writers, particularly the Romantic Period poets who just knew how to turn a phrase.

These days I find my imagination inflamed and my heart aflutter with those who write in a lyrical form of language. I’ve often been one for word pictures, so the better the description the more I eat it up. However, there is a limit to description, ie late 19th Century Russian and English novels…OH.MY.WORD how they went on. but I digress.

it is this unification of words that brings what is being said or what is being written to life. to form. to an ability to be understood. and it is in this unity that people come to a conclusion about what is being said or not said.

There are those who display a deft hand at placing words in a line and taking us to another place. There are those who are still working out the uniting of the lines they have held on to for awhile now, know that they need to speak or share, but know that they must use just the right words for understandings sake.

As a reader (and sometimes writer) I am a great proponent of the uniting of words.

END

five minute friday

9 thoughts on “#FMF – Unite

  1. Beautiful take on the prompt Janel!! If you just stack words on top of another you have a dictionary, not a book worthy of reading. The over description reminded me of Tom Clancy novels, I really love his stories but dude, please do not explain to me every screw, bolt, and stitch it takes for the plane involved or every crevice of the weapon. Some stories are worth reading through those overly descriptive and torturous pages and others simply are undeserving of my time (and brain power). Talk soon friend!!

  2. Right there with you! What would we do without the uniting of words?! This post spurred me on to strive harder and reach further to better the craft. Grateful for your presence here!

  3. Oh I loved this Janel. So much THIS: “Words are just words until you unite them. Then they become sentences. And they begin longer forms of communication, and even begin to form stories.” I’m in the 7 spot this week.

  4. Very clever take on the prompt. I find that active listening – uniting our attention, our interpretation of the context (body language etc.) and the words we hear to compute what’s being said – is so important in spoken interactions.So many words we speak fall on totally deaf ears, which hurts, as words are precious. Loved your take on this (made me think so much!). Thanks, Helen {A FMF friend}

  5. Your comment about Russian novels made me laugh out loud. I had to read some Dostoyevsky for a class in college, and even though it was one of his shorter pieces, I was still like, “Dude, enough already!” I feel the same way about Shakespeare.

    I think you have a poet inside you. “Imagination inflamed” and “heart aflutter.” No mere prose, my friend. Lovely.

  6. Great words, Janel. Uniting our words is an art, and you have a beautiful way of doing so. Love where you took the prompt this week! Always a blessing to stop over, friend. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

