#FMF – Haven

Joining with the crew over at Kate’s who write every Thursday night/Friday morning (and throughout the week) on a one word prompt for five minutes. I love this community. It is my safe place. I am so thankful for them.

prompt: HAVEN

As I sit down to my computer and wait for it to load, I think of this community, this safe place. I’ve only been gathering here for a couple years but it just feels like family.

From the first moment that I got up my courage to say hi and enter into chatting on Thursday nights, I haven’t looked back. There have been seasons in which I have been unable to gather with the others, or haven’t been able to follow through on the prompt, but the most important thing that I’ve learned in this community (and tried to share with others as they join) is that GRACE is lavished here.

Last summer, this group of people met together (well some of us, it is a LARGE beautiful (and handsome (ANDREW! and other fellows)) community.) And while I was nervous, I didn’t really feel fear, because I felt like I knew these people. Like I was gathering for an awesome weekend with old friends.

And as we settled in, and found our way into cozy chairs with cold water in hand (or coffee depending on the person), walls began to drop and we were ourselves more fully than I think I’ve experienced more than anywhere else. What a blessing to be known and to be loved.

It has always been a challenge for me to believe that I’m part of a group. To know that my presence isn’t merely tolerated, but enjoyed. and indeed, in THIS place, I have found this. I have found a haven.

Thank you FMF community. I love you.

end.

 

8 thoughts on “#FMF – Haven

  1. “It has always been a challenge for me to believe that I’m part of a group. To know that my presence isn’t merely tolerated, but enjoyed. and indeed, in THIS place, I have found this.” Agreed!

  2. Oohhhh we love you right back. I know we didn’t get to spend a ton of time together in Nashville, but it truly did feel like I was meeting old friends. Yes FMF is indeed my haven too! I’m in the #8 spot this week.

  3. Love, love, love this. You belong. We all do, and that couldn’t more true than in this FMF community. So blessed to know you through it. So blessed to be a part of it. Great post!

  4. Janel, my heart feels all squishy after reading this. I, too, have the sense of being with old friends even though I’ve never actually met any of you. It’s truly beautiful how the Lord draws us together this way!

Leave a Reply

