FMF – Rest

Good evening and welcome to the Thursday evening where we link up at Kate’s place for the Five Minute Friday gathering. Five minutes of writing, without editing on one topic. All of us spreading our thoughts out on the page…and see what flies from our fingers.

prompt: Rest

I have been in a period of rest that is unexpected and found myself wasting away the time. I quit my job at Starbucks and moved to work at a smaller cafe. Its been quite a change and I”m still in transition. But the change is this…I gave two weeks notice and was given one week of work. Thankfully my new boss had tentatively scheduled me for a couple shifts this past week or else I would have had an entire week of unplanned vacation.

As a result I’ve worked a couple of half days but then had several other days off. Its been a bit disconcerting because the other times I’ve had such wide swathes of time available for myself, I had planned what I was going to do with my time. So i have puttered about and done very little that is helpful, but I have had some downtime which is necessary since the past several months have been hugely stressful in my life.

I wonder if all of this reflects that fact that perhaps I’ve forgotten what it is to truly rest. to find rest, to stay in that rest, to find renewal and restoration in that rest. One of the areas i find it hardest to rest in is in my mind. it seems to always be going a mile a minute and I have a hard time trying to relinquish what i think i have on my plate or the worry that consumes me and just rest in Him. I think that I’ve glanced at and perhaps experienced moments where I’ve known this rest, but they are few and far between.

rest is something that i long for. something that when i hear the word or read it in a sentence my mind and soul immediately jump up with a resounding ‘yes’ to experience. having it put into practice on the other hand is a much different experience.

Here is to finding ways to truly soul rest this year. to breathe Him in deeply and to have him calm my mind and my heart.

end

five minute friday

 

2 thoughts on “FMF – Rest

  1. I know what you mean about being able to rest your mind. I’m the same way. It’s very rare that I can just totally rest in Him, but I had one of those moments last Thursday during my holy hour after I’d met with my priest for spiritual direction. The church was so quiet and still and it was just me and Jesus. It’s always like that when I have my holy hour, but something about it was different and I actually managed to be quiet and listen to Him rather than chattering on as I normally do. I don’t know if it helped or made me feel more rested overall, but it was nice to be able to listen and embrace the stillness and quiet of that moment and place. I’m so glad you stopped by my blog and commented and I’m glad we’ve gotten to chat some on Thursdays at the FMF party too. Love you, my friend!

Leave a Reply

