#FMF – Breathe

Joining with the other’s at Kate Motaung’s space as we write five minutes on a one word prompt. No editing, just letting your fingers fly. And as always, visiting others who have written and sharing your feedback or just some writer love!

Prompt: Breathe

I was on break at work, and I realized that my mom had called me twice in a series of minutes. She had either forgotten to tell me something, or there was something going on. I checked my messages and tears began to fall. My mom had found my dad on the floor Tues morning, he had passed out and then couldn’t get himself up. She enlisted the help of some people to get him off the floor and into bed, but then realized that he should probably head to the hospital. He was in a lot of pain and just couldn’t get comfortable.

She ended up calling an ambulance because she knew that she wouldn’t be able to get him to the hospital and then followed in her car. After hearing her messages on my phone, I told my boss what happened and then asked if I could leave to go see my dad in the hospital. I was beside myself, but tried not to show it. I still haven’t really let myself cry. I left a message on my brother’s phone, called my landlady and asked her to pray and left a message on my friend’s Voxer asking for prayer. I didn’t know what to expect.

I hate hospitals. I guess it would be odd if I liked them, but they have been high up on my do not like list for quite some time. My friend today said its probably because there are so many people who are hurting and my empathy can’t handle it. I’m not sure. I think its all the unknowns of the lives in the hospital. Its a battle between life and death on every floor. I ended up being there when my mom was checking in and then being able to eventually go back to the ER room that he was staying in where I held his hand. His head was in a brace because he had fallen and they were exploring the possibility of meningitis and didn’t want to have a possible injury before they could get all the scans done.

I held his hand and tried to stay positive. I tried to make a joke or two. I kept reminding myself to just breathe.

END

my dad has been admitted to the hospital. today they diagnosed him with a blood infection. they are working to make sure that they have gotten all that is going on in his body and have been most helpful in keeping us informed and his health is being monitored well. Thank you to those who prayed. I am so grateful.

five minute friday

 

Leave a Reply

