#FMF – Weak

joining up with my people over at Five Minute Friday, who join together over one word and then write their hearts out for five minutes. This community is definitely something that keeps me going week to week. I am so thankful that I have found them, and that I am blessed to be able to join them (when I do) to add my voice.

Prompt: WEAK

weak :lacking in bodily strength or healthy vigor, as from age or sickness;feeble; infirm

Since last week, I’ve been under the weather health wise. It all started with my dad being sick and in the hospital, and the stress related to that. Perhaps the weather that we’ve been having also played a party It has been unseasonably warm for a couple days, and then freezes for several more days and doesn’t really let germs die in the cold as they should.

Nevertheless, as of last Sunday I was diagnosed with a viral sinus infection and was informed that if I didn’t take care of it, there may be a bacterial infection involved that would compromise other parts of my body to infection. As I took the medicine, and tried to clear my nose and chest of congestion, I felt frustrated.

I longed to breathe again like I had previous to being sick. I wanted to sleep at night, without waking up coughing and not have to be blowing my nose or eating chicken soup what seemed like the 100th time (maybe only 3 or 4 times).

In all reality, what I hate more than anything was being weak. Not being able to do the things I normally do with no thought. Going outside to brush the snow off my car, walking up the stairs, doing some things around the apartment…all seemed to cause me extra strain. And I realized as well, that I don’t like things being out of my control. I just wanted a medicine that cleared this up ASAP. I wanted to be able to stop coughing. I wanted to stop having congestion. I wanted to feel like myself…but it is a process that takes time.

I’ve been trying to see the rest in my weakness, but its straining my eyes

END

five minute friday

3 thoughts on “#FMF – Weak

  1. I understand the feeling, but came to realize that having to take ‘down time’ was as important a part of fitness as exercise. As an example – when I could still do it, I had a three-hour workout seven days a week, until someone told me that what I was really doing was burning way any muscle tone by not allowing rest. Exercise causes small injury, and in the healing, the muscles become stronger. I TOTALLY missed that!

    #1 at FMF this week.

    http://blessed-are-the-pure-of-heart.blogspot.com/2017/02/your-dying-spouse-275-i-hope-you-dance.html

Leave a Reply

