#FMF – Try

Every Thursday a fantastic group of people gather on Twitter and using the hashtag #fmfparty they party it up for two hours before Kate throws down the ONE WORD prompt for the evening. Its called Five Minute Friday but some choose to start writing on Thursday night. These parties is one of my favourite happenings on the internet. These people are the real deal and its been so good to get to know them over the past several years (I even got to meet a few in real life!)

So this weeks prompt is TRY. (write five minutes, no edits (except basic spelling and the like) and see what the prompt brings out of your madly typing fingers. )

GO
The first thing I thought of for those quote was a saying that I think is attributed to Yoda (in Star Wars…but I”m not a true fan so don’t get mad). I think it is something along the lines of “there is no try, there is only do”

the second thing that comes to mind is when people say ‘Have a good day’ I always answer ‘Thanks, I will try.’ I’m not a big person for commitments. I mean, if I commit to actually having a good day, what happens if I don’t. I mean in this thinking, I guess i think its all up to me, whether this happens or not.

I’m a pretty tempermental and sensitive person, which isn’t always a good combination when it comes to customer service (the field in which I’ve found myself over the past years). So I can try to have a great time at work, and I usually do, but as soon as that one customer is crusty or says something that isn’t so kosher, my nose gets out of joint and I often interact with them in a very cold and less then mature manner.

So in the sense that I let other people often dictate how I feel, then I’m adverse to saying that I WILL have a great day, cause who knows what might come ahead. and I’m a pessimist most days, and so why would i look forward to having a great day, they are so rare (although I do acknowledge when I have them).

But coming back to the first quote, ‘There is no try, there is only do’….its something that maybe I should ponder a bit more. Doing to me holds the possibility of failure. Trying not always, because you don’t always have to follow through. So in that sense, maybe fear of actually taking the step and making a great day out of whatever might come my way, might be a step in the right direction, no matter how out of control that might look for me

end

fiveminutefridaynew

Leave a Reply

